School History

 National Institute of Technology, Fukushima College was founded in April 1962, as Taira National College of Technology.

The College originally comprised three faculties, the Department of Mechanical Engineering, the Department of Electrical Engineering and the Department of Industrial chemistry. The Civil Engineering Department was added in 1966, the same year in which the City of Iwaki was formed through the merger of several existing towns and cities. The name of the school was changed to its current form the following year.

 Although classes were initially held in temporary structures, various permanent building and facilities have been constructed as follows; The main administrative and classroom building in 1963, departmental laboratory buildings between 1964 and 1967, four dormitories between 1963 and 1965, an athletic track and field in 1965, a library in 1970, a computer center in 1973, the Environmental Science Education and Research Center in 1979, and the Ban'yo Student Hall and Health Center in 1981.

 In 1969 the Statue of Youth(Seinen no Zo)by the famous sculptor Churyo Sato was erected in front of the main administration building as the symbol of the college.

 A ceremony commemorating the thirtieth anniversary of the founding of the school was held in 1992, along with various other events.

 In 1994 the range of educational fields offererd by the college was broadened when the four existing engineering departments were joined by the Communication and Information Science Department.

 In November 2002 a ceremony commemorating the 40th anniversary of the College's founding was held in the Conference Room of the Administration Building.

 In April 2004 inauguration of Institute of National Colleges of Technology, Japan Establishment of Advanced Engineering Courses (Advanced Course in Mechanical and Electrical System Engineering,Advanced Course in Chemical and Environmental System Engineering, and Advanced Course in Business Communication)

 In January 2006 completion of the building for Advanced Courses. Certificates were allotted for the Advanced Course Graduates.
 In May 2007 our curriculum, called "General Engineering" was authorized as a JABEE certificated program.

 In April 2009 "Technical Office" was reorganized into "Manufacturing Support Center for Education and Research".

 In February 2010 education in the Advanced Courses was accredited by National Institution for Academic Degree and University Evaluation.

 In October 2012 ceremonies for fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the school were held, along with various other events.

 In April 2014 Kouichi Nara, the President of the school, retired. Takayuki Nakamura was appointed as the 8th principal of the school.

 April 2018 Takayuki Nakamura,the President of the school,retired.Osamu Yamashita was appointed as the 9th principal of the school